During the season of Advent, people from our congregation at Martins Creek Mennonite Church have collaborated to create an Advent devotional.  Each entry has been written by one of our own, both young and old.  We hope these meditations are a blessing to you during this Advent season.

Psalm 72                                                          

When I read this Psalm, what really stuck out to me was David’s undying love for his son, Solomon.  He desired the best for his son and for God to bless him after David himself was no longer there to mentor him.  While there are obvious parallels between the relationship between King David and his son Solomon and Christ being the Son of God, this passage spoke to me in a different way.

This Psalm taught me about how important it is to pray for our children.  I think that we sometimes undermine the power of prayer.  What if we earnestly came before God and asked for His blessing upon our children?  What if we asked God, wholeheartedly, for Him to give our children wisdom and direction in life to fulfill the purpose He has for them?

As a child, I take this Psalm as a reminder to be thankful for the parents I have been blessed with.  I have truly been blessed with Godly parents that love and care for me, and they have been a great example for me to follow.  Not only have they shown me what a faithful and loving marriage looks like, they have given me a glimpse of how God loves me as well.

As you go about your day and week, as a parent, be intentional in praying for your children.  Ask God to bless them and to lift them up so that they can carry out God’s will for their life.

Leave a Reply

