During the season of Advent, people from our congregation at Martins Creek Mennonite Church have collaborated to create an Advent devotional.  Each entry has been written by one of our own, both young and old.  We hope these meditations are a blessing to you during this Advent season.

Isaiah 30:19-21, 23-26                          

My friends have often heard me say that I wish I could experience one day without any kind of “drama.”  Give me a good old boring day where nothing happens, where I don’t have to deal with any kind of crisis, where nothing goes wrong, where I don’t have to make any decisions.  I can just be.

God often has other plans in mind for us, however.  If we never had any kind of adversity to deal with, we would never learn about ourselves, our strengths and weaknesses, or about the depth (or lack) of our spiritual relationship with God.  In today’s scripture text, “Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction,” (Isaiah 30:20) He has promised us that He will be with us, He will walk with us, He will teach us during those hard times.  Sometimes this is a painful process; we may even wonder why God is putting us through this.  Why do I have to suffer so?  Even if it isn’t what we want to hear, God is showing His love for us by patiently walking us through this rough patch in our lives so that we can experience His healing, His blessings and yes, even His wisdom.

While reading the book “When Your World Falls Apart” by David Jeremiah, I came across a powerful quote that really spoke to me.  “The end of my strength and wisdom are merely the beginning of His provision and grace.”  We are blessed beyond measure to have a Savior who loves us so completely that He sends a little “drama” our way in order to draw us closer to Him.

Leave a Reply

