“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.” Psalm 23:1

When I am in control of my life, bad things happen. Not intentionally, but it’s the consequences that get me.
I am selfish: Me first, what I want and what I desire.
I am arrogant: I know what is best for me AND for you.
I am bitter: I compare myself to you and your possessions, wealth and status and become jealous and angry at you.
I am discontent: Nothing is ever good enough and I always want something else.
I am fearful: Afraid of failure, afraid of success and afraid of what others think,
It has been my experience that when I am in control, I am miserable.

When God is in control, when I submit my will and the care of my life over to God, life is good.
God provides for my needs: Not wants and desires.
God provides me with rest: Green pastures in which to find silence and rest.
God provides me with peace: I am next to quiet waters that will quench my thirst. This is a much better picture than I could ever conceive or provide on my own.

When we surrender our lives to God (on a daily basis) we begin to experience the provision, care and guidance of God. Our worries and anxieties are relieved and we become aware of the the present moment. We no longer have one foot in the past and one in the future. We are in the present moment. We experience serenity. We get a break from the chatter of a thousand monkeys that is going on in our head. We are satisfied, silent and serene.

Leave a comment